The Castle

Title : The Castle
Author : Franz Kafka
Publisher : Re-Image Publishing
ISBN 13 : 9783961896264
Date : 2017-05-05

Download Now Read Online



The Castle (German: Das Schloss German pronunciation: Das Schloß is a 1926 novel by Franz Kafka. In it a protagonist known only as K. arrives in a village and struggles to gain access to the mysterious authorities who govern it from a castle. Kafka died before finishing the work, but suggested it would end with K. dying in the village, the castle notifying him on his death bed that his "legal claim to live in the village was not valid, yet, taking certain auxiliary circumstances into account, he was permitted to live and work there". Dark and at times surreal, The Castle is often understood to be about alienation, unresponsive bureaucracy, the frustration of trying to conduct business with non-transparent, seemingly arbitrary controlling systems, and the futile pursuit of an unobtainable goal.

Castle

Title : Castle
Author : David Macaulay
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 13 : 0547348258
Date : 1982-10-25

Download Now Read Online



The word itself conjures up mystery, romance, intrigue, and grandeur. What could be more perfect for an author/illustrator who has continually stripped away the mystique of architectural structures that have long fascinated modern man? With typical zest and wry sense of humor punctuating his drawings, David Macaulay traces the step-by-step planning and construction of both castle and town.

The Women of the Castle

Title : The Women of the Castle
Author : Jessica Shattuck
Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
ISBN 13 : 9781785762574
Date : 2017-05-18

Download Now Read Online



In war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them? 'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York Times 'Masterful' People 'Mesmerising . . . reveals new truths about one of history's most tragic eras' USA Today The Third Reich has crumbled. The Russians are coming. Marianne von Lingenfels - widow of a resister murdered by the Nazi regime - finds refuge in the crumbling Bavarian castle where she once played host to German high society. There she fulfils her promise to find and protect the wives and children of her husband's brave conspirators, rescuing her dearest friend's widow, Benita, from sexual slavery to the Russian army, and Ania from a work camp for political prisoners. As Marianne assembles this makeshift family she is certain their shared pain will bind them together. But as Benita begins a clandestine relationship and Ania struggles to conceal her role in the Nazi regime, Marianne learns that her clear-cut, highly principled world view has no place in these new, frightening and emotionally-charged days. All three women must grapple with the realities they now face, and the consequences of decisions each made in the darkest of times . . . Deeply moving and compelling, The Women of the Castle is a heart-wrenching and hopeful novel of secrets and survival, a reckoning, and the astonishing power of forgiveness. Perfect for fans of All the Light You Cannot See, The Reader and The Light Between Oceans.

I Capture The Castle

Title : I Capture The Castle
Author : Dodie Smith
Publisher : Random House
ISBN 13 : 9781446467145
Date : 2011-08-31

Download Now Read Online



'I write this sitting in the kitchen sink' is the first line of this timeless, witty and enchanting novel about growing up. Cassandra Mortmain lives with her bohemian and impoverished family in a crumbling castle in the middle of nowhere. Her journal records her life with her beautiful, bored sister, Rose, her fadingly glamorous stepmother, Topaz, her little brother Thomas and her eccentric novelist father who suffers from a financially crippling writer's block. However, all their lives are turned upside down when the American heirs to the castle arrive and Cassandra finds herself falling in love for the first time.

The Glass Castle

Title : The Glass Castle
Author : Jeannette Walls
Publisher : Hachette UK
ISBN 13 : 9780748115563
Date : 2010-02-04

Download Now Read Online



Now a major motion picture starring Brie Larson, Naomi Watts and Woody Harrelson. This is a startling memoir of a successful journalist's journey from the deserted and dusty mining towns of the American Southwest, to an antique filled apartment on Park Avenue. Jeanette Walls narrates her nomadic and adventurous childhood with her dreaming, 'brilliant' but alcoholic parents. At the age of seventeen she escapes on a Greyhound bus to New York with her older sister; her younger siblings follow later. After pursuing the education and civilisation her parents sought to escape, Jeanette eventually succeeds in her quest for the 'mundane, middle class existence' she had always craved. In her apartment, overlooked by 'a portrait of someone else's ancestor' she recounts poignant remembered images of star watching with her father, juxtaposed with recollections of irregular meals, accidents and police-car chases and reveals her complex feelings of shame, guilt, pity and pride toward her parents.

Goblins in the Castle

Title : Goblins in the Castle
Author : Bruce Coville
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
ISBN 13 : 1439112398
Date : 2015-06-16

Download Now Read Online



What moans at midnight in Toad-in-a-Cage Castle? Toad-in-a-Cage Castle was filled with secrets -- secrets such as the hidden passages that led to every room, the long stairway that wound down to the dungeon, and the weird creature named Igor who lived there. But it was the mysterious night noises that bothered William the most -- the strange moans that drifted through the halls of the castle where he was raised. He wanted to know what caused them. Then one night he found out....

Over at the Castle

Title : Over at the Castle
Author : Boni Ashburn
Publisher : Abrams
ISBN 13 : 9781613124437
Date : 2016-02-08

Download Now Read Online



In this clever reworking of the classic folk song “Over in the Meadow,” readers meet villagers who spent their day spinning, cleaning, cooking, dancing, and more. The text counts up from one baby dragon to ten court jesters, and kids will enjoy counting along with each of the characters as they go about their daily work. At the end of the day, all the villagers look out their windows for a special surprise from their dragon neighbors. Readers will pore over illustrations filled with the same unexpected, warm humor of Boni Ashburn and Kelly Murphy’s first book, Hush, Little Dragon.

The Castle

Title : The Castle
Author : Omid Olfet
Publisher : FriesenPress
ISBN 13 : 9781770674745
Date : 2011-04-01

Download Now Read Online



Devon was a five-year-old when he learned that those headaches he was having were the result of a cancerous tumor behind his eye. But thanks to his family and good doctors, he survived. Or did he?The Castle is the story of his reminiscences, especially of the crystal chess set he got as a gift after his surgery. But then one of the pieces fell to the floor and shattered. Which piece? The castle, or rook as some call it.Suddenly, Devon awakens in a strange land where he finds a real castle - and some of the same people he knew in his childhood.What is real and what is not? Is he alive or dead? It's a story that will keep you wondering.

The Castle in the Classroom

Title : The Castle in the Classroom
Author : Ranu Bhattacharyya
Publisher : Stenhouse Publishers
ISBN 13 : 1571107703
Date : 2010

Download Now Read Online



This book describes a year in a kindergarten classroom as the children embark on literary exploration. The detailed focus lessons throughout the book use the power of stories to deepen the literary experience so that reading and writing become as much a part of kindergarten as playing and pretending are.--[book cover]

The Man in the High Castle

Title : The Man in the High Castle
Author : Philip K. Dick
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 13 : 9780547601205
Date : 2012-01-24

Download Now Read Online



“The single most resonant and carefully imagined book of Dick’s career.” —New York Times It’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some twenty years earlier the United States lost a war—and is now occupied by Nazi Germany and Japan. This harrowing, Hugo Award–winning novel is the work that established Philip K. Dick as an innovator in science fiction while breaking the barrier between science fiction and the serious novel of ideas. In it Dick offers a haunting vision of history as a nightmare from which it may just be possible to wake. Winner of the Hugo Award